Let’s Redefine: Happily Ever After.

Society says life isn’t like how it’s portrayed in the movies. There are no fireworks when you get the guy, there are no boomboxes held over heads, there is no aggrandized profession of love right before the credits roll and play an upbeat song by Train.

Hold on. Why can’t life be like that?

Why is it that those of us who want to lead our lives this way become discredited as unrealistic and naive? Aren’t movies simply the imprinted ideals of our wildest hopes and dreams enacted? Aren’t movies just the unrealistic and naive goals that we can’t seem to attain in real life because they’re only seen in fiction? The fact that movies and society has desensitized the idea of over-the-top acts of affection makes me sad.

If I wanted to, I could play every situation in which my love life would work out like a movie. I can tell you what time the plane would land, the sounds of the crying, confused elderly passengers, and the sights of the trees along the tarmac. I could tell you the songs I’d use to serenade my person and the stupid dance routine that I would inevitably create in my head. It would be Beyoncé, of course. Everything could be perfect, but we’re told that because it doesn’t happen in real life, then it could never happen. Happily ever after doesn’t exist in the nonfiction realm.

And that kills me.

As a writer, all I do is live in the world of fiction, but to me it isn’t fiction. These are real people and lives and situations that have the possibility of permeating the realms, but the world around me dictates the validity. Every fiber of my being can tell you how happily ever after could exist, how it does exist. It just doesn’t exist in the same ways for everybody. The movies have it right, but they also have it cliché and generalized. Maybe the problem isn’t wholly found in society, maybe it’s the movies for only showing the same types of happily ever after? Maybe we should start creating different ones, but not necessarily “realistic” ones. Realistic is a relative term anyhow.

If you’re like me, willing and wanting to go about creating your own happily ever after, then you’ve probably thought: there’s no telling the reactions you’d get from your person, how they saw it playing out, if they wanted this to happen, or if you are their person as much as they are yours. Is it worth the risk if it means making a fool of yourself? What if it ends in flames? What if it ends in fireworks? 

What if the ‘what if’s’ disappeared? What if it didn’t really matter? Just let it happen.

Go with your heart, create your happily ever after, and let the credits roll.

Leave a Reply

